PCC Affiliated Organizations Committee (AOC) 

Committee Chair: David Moore, PhD

The Affiliated Organizations Committee (AOC) of the Psychoanalytic Center of the Carolinas (PCC) brings together clinical organizations for the purpose of promoting mental health (primarily psychotherapy) in the Carolinas through mutual sharing of event information, listening to the wisdom of each other and then working together on the critical issues that arise in our discussions. Each member of the AOC shall act as a liaison between the PCC and their own respective organization. The mission of the PCC is “to promote emotional resilience by understanding the mind through psychoanalytic training, practice and service.” The Affiliated Organizations Committee does not formally or legally “affiliate” the PCC with any organization but simply involves a person who agrees to act as liaison.

AOC Events and News

Conference. The Magic Years of Selma Fraiberg: Clinician, Researcher, Writer. A Centenary Celebration. Saturday, March 24, 2018. SFSU, San Francisco, CA.

The Florence Seminars – The 2018 Mental Health Seminar, with Amelio A. D'Onofrio, PhD.
Relational Trauma and its Psychoanalytic-Existential Response: Theoretical and Technical Considerations for Clinical Practice. July 23 - 27, 2018, Florence, Italy.
(early registration ends April 15) .


Please welcome Michael Groat, PhD, Executive Director and President of CooperRiis, to the Affiliated Organizations Committee. 8/2017

News from the International Psychoanalytical Association's (IPA) Congress in Buenos Aires, July 2017 - Reported by David Moore, PCC AOC Chair, 7/2017


The Neuropsychoanalysis Association invites you to explore The Talking Head - a free, interactive educational platform exploring a big question: What is the Mind?


List of AOC Members and Organizations

(click on organization to be redirected to their website)

(click on member to email)

 American Academy of Psychotherapists Phil Spiro, MD
American Association for Pastoral Counselors Carla Lang, D.Min
American Assocation for Psychoanalysis Clinical Social Work Assocation (AAPCSW) Sonia Hsieh, MSW
 American Group Psychotherapy Association Susan Gale Orovitz, PhD, CGP
 American Psychoanalytic Association David Moore, PhD
Executive Councilor
Steven Bennett, PhD
Alternate Councilor 
American Psychological Association Division 39 Mary Gail O'Dea, PhD
Carolinas Group Psychotherapy Society Susan Gale Orovitz, PhD, CGP
 C.G. Jung Society of the Triangle Terri Yuschok, MD 
 CooperRiis Michael Groat, PhD
 Duke Divinity School Warren Kinghorn, MD
 Duke Humanities Deborah Jenson, PhD &
Thomas Johnson 
 Duke Psychiatry   Seamus Bhatt-Mackin MD
 International Neuro-Psychoanalysis Society David Moore, PhD
 International Psychoanalytic Association David Moore, PhD 
 Licensed Professional Counselors Association of NC Lili Sznaidman, LPCS
 Lucy Daniels Center John Tisdale, D.Min
NC Society for Clinical Social Work (NCSCSW) Patricia Deboer, MSW
NC Psychiatry Association David Smith, MD
NC Central Regional Hospital   Luiz Gazzola MD
Psychoanalytic Center of the Carolinas David Moore, PhD
Lisa Long (PCC Administrator)
Triangle Area Psychotherapists, a Listserv
(click title for information and to join list)

James McCracken
 UNC Psychiatry Department  Burton Hutto, MD
 UNC School of Social Work Marilyn Ghezzi, MSW 
Health Humanities Lab and the Neurohumanities Research Group at Duke University.